The Council is the principal decision and policy-making body of ICES.

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Council comprises a President and two delegates appointed by each of the 20 Member Countries

William (Bill) Karp is the current ICES President​, ser​ving a three-year term from November 2021–October 2024.

Bureau acts as the Executive Committee of the Council, and the Finance Committee is responsible for overseeing the organization’s financial matters.

The work of the Council is carried out through the Advisory Committee (ACOM), Science Committee (SCICOM), Data and Information Group (DIG), and the Secretariat. ​

Back to Who we are


Print this pagePrint it Request newsletterSend to Post to Facebook Post to Twitter Post to LinkedIn Share it

​ICES Council in its meeting at our Headquarters in 2022.

c FollowFollow Focus on ContentFocus on Content
HelpGive Feedback


International Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES) · Conseil International pour l'Exploration de la Mer (CIEM)
ICES Secretariat · H. C. Andersens Boulevard 44-46, DK 1553 Copenhagen V, Denmark · Tel: +45 3338 6700 · Fax: +45 3393 4215 ·
Disclaimer Privacy policy · © ICES - All Rights Reserved