ICES Awards

ICES Awards

​Each year we honour scientists who have made especially notable contributions to the organization and the wider marine science world.​

​Nominations for the Prix d'Excellence and Outstanding Achivement Award are now open. Nominations are submitted online. Read more about the criteria for awards and how to nominate. Submission deadline is 1 May 2024.​​​​​​​​​​​

ICES Awards are presented to individuals whose contributions have enhanced the organization and its community of scientists, advanced marine science, and/or exemplified the application of ICES scientific information to societal decisions on the sustainable use of marine ecosystems.

We have four awards:

ICES Awards are managed by the ICES Awards Committee, which consists of two Council representatives: Carl O'Brien, UK (Chair) and Ann Bucklin, US, and three representatives from the Science Committee: Ellen Kenchington, Canada; Antonina dos Santos, Portugal and Manuel Hi​dalgo, Spain.​

Print this pagePrint it Request newsletterSend to Post to Facebook Post to Twitter Post to LinkedIn Share it

Ellen Kenchington receives ICES Outstanding Achievement Award 2023 from Awards Committee Chair Carl O'Brien. 

c FollowFollow Focus on ContentFocus on Content
HelpGive Feedback

ICES Awards

International Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES) · Conseil International pour l'Exploration de la Mer (CIEM)
ICES Secretariat · H. C. Andersens Boulevard 44-46, DK 1553 Copenhagen V, Denmark · Tel: +45 3338 6700 · Fax: +45 3393 4215 ·
Disclaimer Privacy policy · © ICES - All Rights Reserved