Who we are

General Secretaries

2022–  Alan Haynie, USA

2012–2021  Anne Christine Brusendorff, Denmark

2006–2012  Gerd Hubold, Germany

2000–2005  David de G. Griffith, Ireland

1994–1999  Christopher C.E. Hopkins, UK

1988–1993  Emory D. Anderson, USA

1983–1988  Basil B. Parrish, UK

1965–1983  Hans E. Tambs-Lyche, Norway

1954–1965  Arni Fridriksson, Iceland

1952–1953  Villy Dessai, Denmark

1951–1952  Ebba Brønniche, Denmark (Acting General Secretary)*

1951  Paul Jespersen, Denmark

1945–1951  Harald Blegved, Denmark

1944–1945  Ebba Brønniche, Denmark (Acting Administrative Secretary)*

1932–1944  Wilhelm Nellemose, Denmark

1927–1932  Knud Schøning, Denmark (Administrative Secretary)

1908–1927  Christian F. Drechsel, Denmark

1902–1908  Paulus P.C. Hoek, The Netherlands

*Not elected


Print this pagePrint it Request newsletterSend to Post to Facebook Post to Twitter Post to LinkedIn Share it
c FollowFollow Focus on ContentFocus on Content
HelpGive Feedback

General Secretaries

International Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES) · Conseil International pour l'Exploration de la Mer (CIEM)
ICES Secretariat · H. C. Andersens Boulevard 44-46, DK 1553 Copenhagen V, Denmark · Tel: +45 3338 6700 · Fax: +45 3393 4215 · info@ices.dk
Disclaimer Privacy policy · © ICES - All Rights Reserved