Highly prized scientists

Awards presented for best oral and poster presentations at the closing ceremony of the ICES 2017 Annual Science Conference (ASC) in Fort Lauderdale.
Published: 22 September 2017

​​​​​​The standout contributors were formally recognized by chair of ICES Science Committee (SCICOM) Simon Jennings, as the curtain came down on the four-day event at Fort Lauderdale’s Broward County Convention Center.​

Standout science

Hiroaki Sugino of the University of Tokyo picked up the Best Presentation Award for his study entitled ‘Visualization of Citizens’ Vista, Future Vision and its Vector: a practical case study from the Tokyo Bay of Japan’. Sugino’s work was clear and showcased sound science with novel results while being presented in an entertaining way.  

Elizabeth North from the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Sciences received the Best Poster accolade for her effort ‘OysterFutures: applying a spatially-explicit model and testing a collaborative process for developing oyster fishing regulations in Chesapeake Bay’. North’s poster managed to draw the attention to the circular flow decision process of engagement of stakeholders in oysters management.

Early career winners

Recognition was also given to the valuable contributions made by early career scientists. Natalie Sawaya from the University of South Florida and Alice Lapijover from Littoral, Environmental and Societies (LIENS) under the University of La Rochelle won best presentations in this category for ‘Assessing diversity in the Florida Keys through environmental DNA metabarcoding’ and ‘Co-constructing a shared vision of marine territories using serious games’ respectively.

The best early career scientist poster award was given to Kiva Oken from the Department of Marine and Coastal Sciences, Rutgers State University of New Jersey for ‘Why were nearshore species assemblages so resilient to the Deepwater Horizon oil spill?

Cheers to the chairs

Several service awards were also presented, to Steve Cadrin and Anne Hollowed as outgoing chairs of the Strategic Initiative on Stock Assessment Methods (SISAM) and the ICES/PICES Strategic Initiative on Climate Change Impacts on Marine Ecosystems (SICCME) respectively as well as to Carmen Fernandez, who steps down from her role of Advisory Committee (ACOM)​ Vice-Chair.

The ASC is a meeting point for the ICES community and a platform for engagement in the latest innovative marine research. This year's event drew over 400 participants from multiple countries and continents, representing a wide range disciplines and sectors.

Print this pagePrint it Request newsletterSend to Post to Facebook Post to Twitter Post to LinkedIn Share it

​ICES SCICOM Chair Simon Jennings and winner of one of the best early career scientist presentation awards Alice Lapijover

c FollowFollow Focus on ContentFocus on Content
HelpGive Feedback

Highly prized scientists

International Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES) · Conseil International pour l'Exploration de la Mer (CIEM)
ICES Secretariat · H. C. Andersens Boulevard 44-46, DK 1553 Copenhagen V, Denmark · Tel: +45 3338 6700 · Fax: +45 3393 4215 ·
Disclaimer Privacy policy · © ICES - All Rights Reserved