ICES ecoregions and advisory areas

ICES ecoregions and advisory areas

Our advice is divided by ecoregions, allowing for further development of an ecosystem approach in European waters.

​The ecoregions​ are based on biogeographic and oceanographic features and existing political, social, economic, and management divisions. They are developed through an iterative process of consultations between scientists and stakeholders led by our Advisory Committee (ACOM)​. 

​ICES ecoregions:

  • Arctic Ocean
  • Greenland Sea
  • Norwegian Sea
  • Barents Sea
  • Icelandic Waters
  • Faroes
  • Celtic Seas
  • Greater North Sea
  • Baltic Sea
  • Oceanic Northeast Atlantic
  • Azores
  • Bay of Biscay and the Iberian Coast

Print this pagePrint it Request newsletterSend to Post to Facebook Post to Twitter Post to LinkedIn Share it

​ICES ecoregions. Click to enlarge.

c FollowFollow Focus on ContentFocus on Content
HelpGive Feedback

ICES ecoregions and advisory areas

International Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES) · Conseil International pour l'Exploration de la Mer (CIEM)
ICES Secretariat · H. C. Andersens Boulevard 44-46, DK 1553 Copenhagen V, Denmark · Tel: +45 3338 6700 · Fax: +45 3393 4215 ·
Disclaimer Privacy policy · © ICES - All Rights Reserved